Australia Policy Brief


The Building Code of Australia (BCA) 2010 requires a minimum 6-star NatHERS rating for new residential houses and apartments. This standard was phased in on individualized time-frames for Australian states and territories.

Law: Building Code of Australia

Enacted: 2010

Implementation: 2010-2011

Rating Tool: NatHERS



Disclosure: Buyers

Building Type: Residential

Rating Type: Asset

There are other largely voluntary rating programs in use in Australia, most of which are designed and monitored at the state and territory level. In addition, there are numerous energy rating tools which are used in compliance with national home energy rating standards.




The Commercial Building Disclosure program came into effect on 1 November 2010. Transitional arrangements were in place for the first year of operation. On 1 November 2011 full disclosure arrangements came into effect. This means that a Building Energy Efficiency Certificate(BEEC) must be obtained by a building owner or lessor when commercial office space with a net lettable area over 2,000 square meters is advertized for sale or lease. A BEEC is composed of three elements:

      • A NABERS Energy star rating for the building
      • An assessment of tenancy lighting in the area of the building that is being sold or leased
      • General energy efficiency guidance

The Commercial Building Disclosure program is a legislative program underpinned by the Building Energy Efficiency Disclosure Act (2010). Civil penalty regimes apply for non-compliant properties.

Law: Building Energy Efficiency Disclosure Act

Enacted: 2010

Implementation: 2010-2011

Rating Tool: NABERS



Disclosure: Buyers, Lessees

Building Type: Commercial offices > 2,000 sq.m

Rating Type: Operational



For more resources on Australian policies, see our links page or search our Document Library.